Inside Racing

ADAC Formula 4

ADAC Formula 4 makes its debut in 2015. With SPORT1, the ADAC has been able to secure the services of a well-known media partner for the successor to the successful Formel ADAC junior series.

Pay-TV channel SPORT1+ will broadcast live races from the ADAC high-speed academy at weekends during ADAC Formula 4’s debut season. In addition, SPORT1 will present a 45-minute magazine-style round-up on free-to-air TV that will include features about the ADAC Formula 4 juniors. Extensive online and mobile phone reporting on and on SPORT1 apps will complete the multimedia package.

The 160bhp ADAC Formula 4 vehicles will line up on the grid powered by Abarth turbo engines, running chassis developed by Italian manufacturer, Tatuus. Italian premium tyre manufacturer Pirelli, who are well-known from Formula 1, will provide tyres for the junior series.

The ADAC Formula 4 will convene at seven race weekends in the ADAC GT Masters and once at Oschersleben with the DTM Touring Car Series.

ADAC Formula 4 will line up a total of five times this year with the Super Sports Car League at German race circuits – in Oschersleben, at the Lausitzring, Nürburgring, Sachsenring and in Hockenheim. The junior series will race twice with the ADAC GT Masters at current Formula 1 circuits outside of Germany’s borders – at the Red Bull Ring in Austria and at Spa Francorchamps. SPORT1+ will broadcast the races live.

For many years, the ADAC development programme for single-seater junior drivers has been the starting point for future motor racing stars. In the past, Formula 1 drivers, including four-time world champion Sebastian Vettel, Nico Hülkenberg, Ralf Schumacher and Nico Rosberg and DTM stars Martin Tomczyk, Pascal Wehrlein and Timo Glock all began their successful careers in ADAC junior open-wheel series.

<< zurück